Lebrat, Genthon, Bosshard, Schwab – Quartet

© Pablo Fernandez

Created in 2017, this Franco-Swiss string quartet, composed of Soizic Lebrat, Anouck Genthon, Patricia Bosshard and Marie Schwab, is fueled by several desires: to improvise with four voices together in the moment of listening and to encourage encounters and plural writing by inviting other artists to share the time-space of their research and musical and sound creations.

The four musicians pay particular attention to gesture as a catalyst for the quartet’s specific style of playing, and to its deployment in space. Rich of the diversity and the transversality of their different experiences, they develop a writing which is anchored in a will of sound of whole made of the convergence and the superposition of complementary sonorities. The result is a sound material that continuously unfolds, alive and moving within its own transformation.

In 2021, the quartet creates Patricia Bosshard‘s piece Entre Temps, for string quartet, percussion and acousmonium, composed for the Lebrat Genthon Bosshard Schwab Quartet, Luc Müller, percussion and Olga Kokcharova, sound artist.

The language of the quartet has thus developed over the course of the projects and concerts, always refining the musical discourse and the coherence of the ensemble, whether as an “augmented” quartet or an acoustic quartet.

Marie Schwab (alto)

Solzic Lebrat (cello)

Anouck Genthon (violin)

Patricia Bosshard (violin)