The Bridge : Crying Out Loud

To great evils, great remedies

We’ve never seen that before: saxophones, trombones, tuba, accordion, percussions and electronics in all directions, all mutations, superimposed, laminated, split, ventilated, vaporized – vapors. We’ve never seen this before, but we know the principle, and these five from all musical directions know it by heart: the freedom to take many forms. Duke Ellington used to say that.

Crying Out Loud is a quintet based on improvisation around tiny written compositions acting as pretexts for interaction. Fragments of melody, rhythm or texture form an environment in which all musicians evolve in an interdependent organic manner. According to the sound and intention of the individual, the other musicians adapt in the manner of an ecosystem with premeditated conditions. The keyword of this ensemble is adaptation: adaptation to the context in which the ensemble is playing, adaptation to the unknown as none of the musicians have played with each other before, and adaptation in terms of sound and concept to the particular fragment that is being interpreted. The quintet format is even more interesting as it is asymmetrical and creates an unbalance, whatever happens.

Furthermore, the ensemble can act as a regular band, with the tuba acting as bass inside a rhythm section and two horns in the frontline, but everything can be reversed with three horns playing against an electronic section. The reason why fragments are being used as pretexts for improvisation is to bring the attention to the infinite possibilities of structuring improvisation, as well as to the richness of pure sound making for defining form.


DAN BITNEY – drums, percussion, electronics
CHRISTIANE BOPP – trombone, voice
ROB FRYE – woodwinds, electronics
JAYVE MONTGOMERY – woodwinds, electronics

SIMON SIEGER – trombone, tuba, accordion, piano