Europe - Erasmus+

ERASMUS +
" Promote and produce young artists in Europe : How can we deal with it ? "

Since the very beginning, le Périscope fully assumes its role as artistic pioneer. The programmation team is continuously accomplishing an artistic-awareness work in order to be closer of artists and their professional path. Then, their actions consist in administrative advices, hosting residencies and promotion work.

In a perspective of sharpening this support action, Le Périscope led an European project during 2014/2015 season, alongside with two partners : Oliver Weindling, Vortex Jazz Club director in London and Lukas Kranzelbinder, creator of Polyamory Sound festival and representative of Laub Records in Vienna. The main objective of this project was to think collectively about artistic emergence through this question : « Promote and produce young artists in Europe : How can we deal with it ? »

Thanks to the exchange of know how with partners structure, it was about understanding and learning how to be a better support for young artists career development . Beyond this artistic approach, the issue was to find ways to create a diffusion framework and an economic model to insure young artist development. Indeed, we felt it would be necessary to have a comune think. In another hand and to the extent that few professionals places in France share the same specificity as Le Périscope (200 seats and innovative jazz aesthetic), the european scale was more relevant to broach this group thought, based on the diversity of representative models.

Our engagement in the European project ERASMUS + resulted of a need to find new leads to help the professionalization of emerging artist in Europe. It was vital for Le Périscope, in order to enlarge style and boundaries of iis programmation, to learned from European structures and to constitute a network of partner ready to work together.

KEY DATES
London session from 2 to 5 February 2015
Vienna session from 3 to 5 March 2015
Lyon session from 19 to 22 March 2015
Participation to the 10th edition of Jazzahead! 23rd March 2015 (en savoir +)

PARTNER & WEBSITES

England :
Oliver Weindling / Vortex Jazz Club / London http://www.vortexjazz.co.uk
Dan Nicholls / Loop Collective / London http://www.loopcollective.org
Dave Morecroft (Match&Fuse) / London http://www.matchandfuse.co.uk
Tony Dudsley Evans / Jazz Lines / Birmingham http://www.thsh.co.uk/jazzlines
Elliot Galvin / Chaos Collective / http://chaoscollective.org/
Mark Holub / London http://markholub.tumblr.com

Austria :
Lukas Kranzelbinder / Laub Records / Vienna http://www.laubrecords.com
Manuel Mayr / Jazzwerkstatt / Vienna http://jazzwerkstatt.at/en/
Christoph Huber / Porgy and bess / Vienna http://www.porgy.at
Fabian Rucker / Vienna http://www.fabianrucker.com

France :
Lucas Garnier / Grolektif Collectif / Lyon http://www.grolektif.com
Charlène Mercier / A Vaulx Jazz / Lyon http://www.avaulxjazz.com
Grégory Sallet / Collectif Pince Oreilles / Lyon http://www.collectifpinceoreilles.com

Seminary guests with AJC support :

Holland :
John Thomas / Axejazzpower / Netherlands / http://axesjazzpower.nl

Denmark :
Peder Raarup Jensen / ILK Music / Copenhagen http://www.ilkmusic.com/about/